<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" version="2.0"><channel><title><![CDATA[Jaafar Mourtada]]></title><description><![CDATA[Jaafar Mourtada]]></description><link>https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev</link><image><url>https://cdn.hashnode.com/res/hashnode/image/upload/v1593680282896/kNC7E8IR4.png</url><title>Jaafar Mourtada</title><link>https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev</link></image><generator>RSS for Node</generator><lastBuildDate>Mon, 19 Oct 2026 10:29:27 GMT</lastBuildDate><atom:link href="https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev/rss.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml"/><language><![CDATA[en]]></language><ttl>60</ttl><item><title><![CDATA[Who Pays for an AI Program?]]></title><description><![CDATA[Your employer's own policy decides whether it pays for your AI program; a provider page cannot decide that for you. The pages do show how each provider takes company money, which funding it refuses, a]]></description><link>https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev/who-pays-for-an-ai-program</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev/who-pays-for-an-ai-program</guid><category><![CDATA[Artificial Intelligence]]></category><category><![CDATA[Career]]></category><category><![CDATA[education]]></category><category><![CDATA[online learning]]></category><dc:creator><![CDATA[Jaafar Mourtada]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Thu, 15 Oct 2026 06:38:19 GMT</pubDate><content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Your employer's own policy decides whether it pays for your AI program; a provider page cannot decide that for you. The pages do show how each provider takes company money, which funding it refuses, and what you can lose. </p>
<h2>The short answer</h2>
<p>The question we see is "will my employer reimburse wharton's ai and analytics program?" No provider page answers it; seven program pages answer the questions around it, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. "No accepted price" means the page shows no program fee amount, not that the program is free. </p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Program</th>
<th>Price state</th>
<th>Company payment</th>
<th>Payment plan</th>
<th>Financial aid</th>
<th>Funding restrictions and scope</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td><a href="https://online-execed.wharton.upenn.edu/leadership-program-in-ai-and-analytics">Wharton Leadership Program in AI and Analytics (Emeritus)</a></td>
<td>no accepted price; only amount: US$250 registration for the optional on-campus event</td>
<td>not stated on the Wharton programme page captured on 14 October 2026</td>
<td>full-payment and installment options, no schedule</td>
<td>questions go to the program team</td>
<td>GI Bill or similar military education funding; Title IV</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://executive.berkeley.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-business-strategies-and-applications">Berkeley AI: Business Strategies and Applications (Emeritus)</a></td>
<td>priced: $3,050.00 program fee, cohort Nov 12, 2026 to Jan 28, 2027</td>
<td>invoice issued to you after payment</td>
<td>installments on the payment page</td>
<td>tuition assistance for participants who qualify</td>
<td>GI Bill or similar military education funding; Title IV</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/courses/ai-essentials-for-business">HBS Online AI Essentials for Business</a></td>
<td>priced: $1,949, on-demand</td>
<td>tax ID and bank details for a sponsor; Enterprise Agreement</td>
<td>pay in full before the deadline; two credit card transactions, minimum $350 first</td>
<td>Income-Based Grant, Military Grant</td>
<td>checks; Veterans Affairs Benefits; late awards</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://executive.mit.edu/ai-essentials.html">MIT Sloan AI Essentials</a></td>
<td>priced: $5,700 tuition, Live Online, December 14 to 16, 2026</td>
<td>invoice payable upon receipt</td>
<td>not stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page captured on 14 October 2026</td>
<td>No</td>
<td>certificate programs outside a degree requirement not eligible for VA benefits</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://online.stanford.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-professional-program">Stanford Artificial Intelligence Professional Program</a></td>
<td>priced: $2,045 per course; three courses; no total shown for this offering</td>
<td>company invoiced after approval</td>
<td>interest-free on the All-Access Plan for most programs; not on this page</td>
<td>no scholarships or traditional aid</td>
<td>VA list covers approved graduate certificates; this program not stated</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://www.getsmarter.com/products/oxford-artificial-intelligence-programme">Oxford Artificial Intelligence Programme (GetSmarter)</a></td>
<td>priced: $3,243 USD, start 11 November 2026; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 14 October 2026</td>
<td>invoice, balance by a set date</td>
<td>two interest-free payments, $1,622.00 and $1,621.00</td>
<td>no bursaries or scholarships</td>
<td>purchase orders not accepted as payment</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td><a href="https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/google-ai">Google AI Professional Certificate (Coursera)</a></td>
<td>priced: $49 per month in the U.S. and Canada</td>
<td>Coursera for Teams: card, PayPal or invoice</td>
<td>monthly subscription</td>
<td>FAQ says yes</td>
<td>Teams: no checks</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<p>We read 25 provider and IRS pages plus the Wharton letter template, with no checkout and no calculated totals (<a href="https://academies.ai/how-we-check/">how we check</a>). </p>
<h2>Who pays: your employer's tuition assistance</h2>
<p>IRS Publication 15-B (2026) says an employer can exclude up to $5,250 a year of educational assistance under an educational assistance program from an employee's wages, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. Publication 970 (2025) says that above $5,250 you must generally pay tax on the excess, unless it also qualifies as a working condition fringe benefit. </p>
<p>Publication 15-B calls such a program "a separate written plan that provides educational assistance only to your employees", with tests that include reasonable notice to employees. It generally covers books, equipment, fees, supplies and tuition, not lodging, meals or transportation. It adds: "Employer-provided AI literacy and skill development programs may be tax-free as working condition fringe benefits if they maintain or improve employee job skills at their current job." No provider page can tell you what your employer's plan covers. </p>
<p>How providers take company money, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:</p>
<ul>
<li><strong>Wharton:</strong> "Emeritus collects all program payments, provides learner enrollment and program support, and manages learning platform services." See our answers on <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/wharton-leadership-ai-analytics/#measured-question-q-004-wharton-employer-reimburse">employer reimbursement</a> and <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/wharton-leadership-ai-analytics/#measured-question-q-002-wharton-pitch-to-manager">pitching your manager</a>. </li>
<li><strong>Berkeley:</strong> "We can assist you with the necessary documentation and support." You email your invoicing requirements; the invoice is issued to you after payment. </li>
<li><strong>HBS Online:</strong> "approximately one-third of HBS Online participants report receiving financial support from their company", by HBS Online's account. It gives a sponsor its tax ID and bank details but does no vendor-setup paperwork for individual payments. Enterprise Agreements take at least 2 to 4 weeks. </li>
<li><strong>MIT Sloan:</strong> "Each participant is responsible for ensuring that his or her invoice is paid." A personal card used to hold your seat can be refunded upon receipt of payment on your behalf. Billing through a company procurement system costs the organization \(1,000 one-time plus \)250 per invoice. </li>
<li><strong>Stanford Online:</strong> Stanford "will contact the representative for approval and then invoice the company". The voucher, purchase order, letter of credit or tuition assistance form must arrive before the start date; payment is due within 30 days of registration or before the start, whichever comes first, and access begins once it is received. If your employer does not pay, you are dropped and remain responsible for all tuition and fees. </li>
<li><strong>Oxford via GetSmarter:</strong> The Oxford page says: "Of our past students, 37 percent have received financial assistance from their employers." If a sponsor pays, you are still bound by the payment terms; sponsor terms agreed with GetSmarter may govern cancellation or postponement and your sponsor's refund eligibility, and may supersede the general terms. </li>
<li><strong>Coursera for Teams:</strong> groups of up to 499 people. Its price estimator, for 2 to 499 licenses, shows $399 per license per year on annual billing, or $438.90 per license per year paid every three months with an annual commitment.</li>
</ul>
<h2>GI Bill and VA benefits</h2>
<p>Each provider's own rule, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:</p>
<ul>
<li>Wharton and Berkeley programs with Emeritus "may not be paid for with (a) funds from the GI Bill, the Post-9/11 Educational Assistance Act of 2008, or similar types of military education funding benefits or (b) Title IV financial aid funds." </li>
<li>HBS Online does not accept Veterans Affairs Benefits and lists a separate Military Grant. </li>
<li>MIT Sloan: "Certificate programs and professional learning opportunities at MIT that are not part of an undergraduate or graduate requirement, are not eligible." </li>
<li>Stanford Online: veterans "may be eligible to use VA educational benefits" for approved graduate certificate programs; this program is not stated to be on that list or off it.</li>
</ul>
<h2>Payment plans</h2>
<p>Only Oxford's two payments, finalised at checkout and due Nov 3, 2026 and Dec 3, 2026, and Stanford's All-Access Plan "for most programs" are called interest-free, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. Wharton and Berkeley offer installments with no schedule on the page. HBS Online fees are due in full before the enrollment deadline. </p>
<h2>Refunds and deferrals</h2>
<p>As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026 (see also our <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/wharton-leadership-ai-analytics/#measured-question-wharton-refund-and-deferral-policy">Wharton refund answer</a>). </p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Provider</th>
<th>Refund</th>
<th>Deferral or transfer</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>Wharton (Emeritus)</td>
<td>Non-delivery: request within 15 calendar days of the notice, 100% of course and miscellaneous fees, application fees non-refundable. Other reasons: no refund. Refunds go to the original payer unless it gives written and signed instruction otherwise.</td>
<td>One deferral per enrolment. Before core start: no fee. Within 90 days after core start or 10 days before the first on-campus portion, whichever is earlier: USD 1,000.00. Later: none. Installments continue unless Emeritus approves a change.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Berkeley (Emeritus)</td>
<td>Non-delivery: request within 15 calendar days of the notice; 100% of course and miscellaneous fees, application fees non-refundable. Otherwise: full refund of course and miscellaneous fees if requested within 14 days after commencement with no earlier deferral; application fees non-refundable; no partial refunds; none after. Refunds go to the original payer.</td>
<td>One deferral per enrolment. Within 30 days of start: no fee. On or after 30 days following the start, before the end date: USD 200.00. On or after the end date: none.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>HBS Online (on-demand)</td>
<td>Up to 24 hours after access, minus a nonrefundable $100 processing fee; after that none, unless HBS Online elects otherwise. Corporate Learning enrollments follow separate terms.</td>
<td>confirm with HBS Online</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>MIT Sloan (Live Online)</td>
<td>Cancellation by days before start: 30 or more, none; 29 to 15, 25%; 14 to 8, 50%; 7 to 1, 100%; 0 or after, 100%. Enrollment is confirmed only on payment. GetSmarter and Emeritus courses excluded.</td>
<td>Transfer: 30 or more, none; 29 to 15, 10%; 14 to 8, 25%; 7 to 1, 50%; 0 or after, 100%.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Stanford Online (cohort-based)</td>
<td>Full refund until the end of the day before start; from day one to the cohort drop deadline, 100% minus a $150 drop fee; no tuition refund after. Stanford may decline requests.</td>
<td>After the course starts, transfers to future sections may be allowed, subject to a change fee; instructor-paced rules may differ.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Oxford via GetSmarter (four weeks or more)</td>
<td>Unless agreed sponsor terms say otherwise: full fee, or the portion paid, if the Change Registration form is in within 21 calendar days of start; none after. Sponsor-paid fees go back to the sponsor. If your sponsor is your employer, you need its written approval to cancel.</td>
<td>No refund if you cancel in a presentation you postponed to; no postponement for courses of 3 weeks or less.</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Coursera for Teams</td>
<td>Money back within 14 days; earned certificates revoked.</td>
<td>confirm with Coursera</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<h2>Financial aid and scholarships</h2>
<p>As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026, Wharton's FAQ asks "Is there any discount or financial aid?" and "Are there any restrictions on the types of funding that can be used to pay for the program?" and sends those questions to the program team. </p>
<p>HBS Online states "Financial aid and flexible pricing is available for all HBS Online offerings." and "Availability of financial aid varies by program." Its two grants are applied for in application windows, and "a Grant award may be considered taxable scholarship income; see IRS Publication 970". It lists lenders "not as an endorsement"; each course needs its own loan, disbursed before the start. </p>
<p>Berkeley's FAQ says: "Tuition assistance is available for participants who qualify." MIT Sloan answers "No." Stanford: "We do not offer scholarships." GetSmarter: "we are not able to offer any funding" (bursaries or scholarships). Coursera's FAQ says yes for the Google certificate. Income-share or deferred-tuition financing is not stated on any of the 29 pages captured on 14 October 2026. </p>
<h2>Hidden costs and failure points</h2>
<p>As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:</p>
<ul>
<li><strong>Procurement charges:</strong> MIT Sloan bills the organization \(1,000 one-time plus \)250 per invoice to use its own procurement system. </li>
<li><strong>Refund and deferral limits:</strong> short refund windows at Wharton, Berkeley and HBS Online, and paid deferrals at Wharton and Berkeley; see the table. </li>
<li><strong>Payments that do not count:</strong> GetSmarter does not accept purchase orders as payment; its FAQ says fees must be received by the start date, while the Oxford page shows a payment plan finalised at checkout. HBS Online refuses awards that arrive after the deadline, and completion-only awards unless they reimburse you directly. </li>
<li><strong>Outside the fee:</strong> Wharton excludes the US$250 optional event registration, accommodation for that event and travel, including visa fees (<a href="https://academies.ai/programs/wharton-leadership-ai-analytics/#measured-question-wharton-what-is-included-in-price">what is included</a>).</li>
</ul>
<h2>What to hand your manager</h2>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Program</th>
<th>What the page offers, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>Wharton</td>
<td>Word letter "Employee Sponsorship Mailer" with blanks for start date, fee and your name</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Berkeley</td>
<td>documentation support; an invoice issued to you after payment</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>HBS Online</td>
<td>course syllabus; Acceptance Letter, Letter of Enrollment and Letter Confirming Course Completion on request</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>MIT Sloan</td>
<td>invoice in the acceptance email; downloadable invoice with editable billing details</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Stanford Online</td>
<td>company invoice after the representative approves</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Oxford via GetSmarter</td>
<td>invoice showing your purchase order number; an "interactive worksheet" for the meeting with your boss</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Coursera for Teams</td>
<td>payment by invoice</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<p>Tax forms: Emeritus is "unable to issue IRS Form 1098-T". HBS Online: "you will not receive a 1098-T form." "GetSmarter will not issue or complete any tax or related forms." </p>
<h2>What the pages do not tell you</h2>
<ul>
<li>Employer or company payment is not stated on the Wharton programme page captured on 14 October 2026. </li>
<li>A payment plan is not stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page captured on 14 October 2026. </li>
<li>Form 1098-T information is not stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page, the Stanford Online tuition, fees and payments page, or the Coursera Google AI Professional Certificate page, each captured on 14 October 2026. </li>
<li>Stanford shows no total for its current $2,045 per-course offering; Coursera states no completion total. </li>
<li>Income-share or deferred-tuition financing is not stated on any of the 29 pages captured on 14 October 2026.</li>
</ul>
<h2>FAQ</h2>
<h3>Will my employer reimburse an AI program?</h3>
<p>Your employer decides, under its own policy. Provider pages only show how they take company payment and what you owe if it does not pay. </p>
<h3>Is the $5,250 figure a cap on what my employer can pay?</h3>
<p>No. It is the yearly amount an employer can exclude from your wages under an educational assistance program, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026; above it, you must generally pay tax on the excess unless it is a working condition fringe benefit. </p>
<h3>Can I use the GI Bill?</h3>
<p>It depends: Wharton and Berkeley exclude it, HBS Online refuses Veterans Affairs Benefits, MIT Sloan says such certificate programs are not eligible, and Stanford points to approved graduate certificates. </p>
<h3>What happens if I cancel after my employer paid?</h3>
<p>Emeritus refunds go to the original payer. GetSmarter refunds a sponsor-paid fee to the sponsor, and an employer sponsor must approve your cancellation in writing, unless agreed sponsor terms say otherwise. </p>
<h2>Where to go next</h2>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/programs/berkeley-ai-business/">Berkeley</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/hbs-online-ai-essentials-for-business/">HBS Online</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/mit-sloan-ai-essentials/">MIT Sloan</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/stanford-artificial-intelligence-professional-program/">Stanford</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/oxford-ai-programme-getsmarter/">Oxford</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/google-ai-professional-certificate/">Google AI</a>. <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/true-cost-ai-certificate/">True cost</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/ai-course-enrollment-checklist/">enrollment checklist</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/executive-ai-programs/">executive AI programs</a>.</p>
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>All provider pages as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026; IRS editions are named above.</p>
<ul>
<li><a href="https://online-execed.wharton.upenn.edu/leadership-program-in-ai-and-analytics">https://online-execed.wharton.upenn.edu/leadership-program-in-ai-and-analytics</a></li>
<li><a href="https://emrt.us/EPAI-Reimbursement-Guide">https://emrt.us/EPAI-Reimbursement-Guide</a> (Word letter template)</li>
<li><a href="https://emeritus.org/academic-policies/">https://emeritus.org/academic-policies/</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/courses/ai-essentials-for-business">https://online.hbs.edu/courses/ai-essentials-for-business</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/about-our-courses-and-programs/payment-financial-aid">https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/about-our-courses-and-programs/payment-financial-aid</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/employer-reimbursement">https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/employer-reimbursement</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/about-our-courses-and-programs/policies/payment-refund">https://online.hbs.edu/why-hbs-online/about-our-courses-and-programs/policies/payment-refund</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/help/faqs/costs-grants-and-financial-aid">https://online.hbs.edu/help/faqs/costs-grants-and-financial-aid</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.hbs.edu/help/faqs/for-organizations">https://online.hbs.edu/help/faqs/for-organizations</a></li>
<li><a href="https://executive.mit.edu/ai-essentials.html">https://executive.mit.edu/ai-essentials.html</a></li>
<li><a href="https://executive.mit.edu/faq">https://executive.mit.edu/faq</a></li>
<li><a href="https://executive.mit.edu/programpolicies.html">https://executive.mit.edu/programpolicies.html</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.stanford.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-professional-program">https://online.stanford.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-professional-program</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.stanford.edu/professional-education/tuition-fees-payments">https://online.stanford.edu/professional-education/tuition-fees-payments</a></li>
<li><a href="https://online.stanford.edu/professional-education/enrollment-faqs">https://online.stanford.edu/professional-education/enrollment-faqs</a></li>
<li><a href="https://mystanfordconnection.stanford.edu/professional-education-grades-policies">https://mystanfordconnection.stanford.edu/professional-education-grades-policies</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.getsmarter.com/products/oxford-artificial-intelligence-programme">https://www.getsmarter.com/products/oxford-artificial-intelligence-programme</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.getsmarter.com/faq">https://www.getsmarter.com/faq</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.getsmarter.com/terms-and-conditions-for-students">https://www.getsmarter.com/terms-and-conditions-for-students</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.getsmarter.com/blog/how-to-convince-your-boss-to-pay-for-your-course/">https://www.getsmarter.com/blog/how-to-convince-your-boss-to-pay-for-your-course/</a></li>
<li><a href="https://executive.berkeley.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-business-strategies-and-applications">https://executive.berkeley.edu/programs/artificial-intelligence-business-strategies-and-applications</a></li>
<li><a href="https://em-executive.berkeley.edu/artificial-intelligence-business-strategies?utm_source=bh&amp;utm_campaign=school_website&amp;utm_medium=website">https://em-executive.berkeley.edu/artificial-intelligence-business-strategies?utm_source=bh&amp;utm_campaign=school_website&amp;utm_medium=website</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/google-ai">https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/google-ai</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.coursera.org/business/teams">https://www.coursera.org/business/teams</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15b">https://www.irs.gov/publications/p15b</a></li>
<li><a href="https://www.irs.gov/publications/p970">https://www.irs.gov/publications/p970</a></li>
</ul>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/guides/who-pays-for-an-ai-program/">Originally published on academies.ai</a></p>
]]></content:encoded></item><item><title><![CDATA[Machine Learning at One Hour a Day: What the Course Pages Add Up To]]></title><description><![CDATA[At one hour a day (7 hours a week), one beginner sequence of Python, then machine learning, then deep learning comes to between 26.7 and 35.1 calendar weeks, by our arithmetic on the providers' own fi]]></description><link>https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev/machine-learning-at-one-hour-a-day-what-the-course-pages-add-up-to</link><guid isPermaLink="true">https://jaafarmourtada.hashnode.dev/machine-learning-at-one-hour-a-day-what-the-course-pages-add-up-to</guid><category><![CDATA[Machine Learning]]></category><category><![CDATA[Data Science]]></category><category><![CDATA[Artificial Intelligence]]></category><category><![CDATA[online learning]]></category><dc:creator><![CDATA[Jaafar Mourtada]]></dc:creator><pubDate>Wed, 14 Oct 2026 07:58:50 GMT</pubDate><content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>At one hour a day (7 hours a week), one beginner sequence of Python, then machine learning, then deep learning comes to between 26.7 and 35.1 calendar weeks, by our arithmetic on the providers' own figures as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026. At 45 minutes a day (5.25 hours a week), the same sequence comes to 35.6 to 46.8 weeks. The range is wide because providers state time in different ways: some give pacing estimates in weeks or months at a set number of hours a week, others list content hours, and one program can carry several different figures.</p>
<h2>The short answer</h2>
<p>A reader on r/learnmachinelearning asked: <a href="https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/1wx4wuj/how_many_time_need_to_learn_machine_learning_if_i/">"How many time need to Learn Machine Learning if I give 45-1h per day"</a>. We answered it for one beginner sequence: <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/deeplearning-ai-python-for-beginners/">AI Python for Beginners</a>, then the <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/deeplearning-ai-stanford-machine-learning-specialization/">Machine Learning Specialization</a>, then the <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/coursera-deep-learning/">Deep Learning Specialization</a>. The table is our arithmetic, not a provider estimate.</p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>What the row counts</th>
<th>Hours</th>
<th>Weeks at 1 hour a day</th>
<th>Weeks at 45 minutes a day</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>Low edge: the lowest figure for each step</td>
<td>187.0</td>
<td>26.7</td>
<td>35.6</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Coursera headline pacing on all three steps, month = 4 weeks</td>
<td>220.0</td>
<td>31.4</td>
<td>41.9</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Coursera headline pacing on all three steps, month = 4.35 weeks</td>
<td>237.5</td>
<td>33.9</td>
<td>45.2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Listed course hours on all three steps</td>
<td>241.0</td>
<td>34.4</td>
<td>45.9</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>High edge: the highest figure for each step</td>
<td>245.5</td>
<td>35.1</td>
<td>46.8</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<p>The low and high edges mix different kinds of figures, so they mark the ends of a range, not a plan. The three middle rows keep one kind of figure across all three steps. None of these numbers is a promise of how long you will take, or of what you can do at the end.</p>
<h2>How we counted</h2>
<p>We used two paces: 7 hours a week (one hour a day) and 5.25 hours a week (45 minutes a day). Weeks are hours divided by the pace, rounded to one decimal.</p>
<p>Course pages state time in two different ways. Content hours are the listed length of modules, courses, sections or videos. Pacing estimates say how many weeks or months a program takes at a stated number of hours a week. Within each step we show them side by side and never add one to the other. Only the low and high edges of the sequence table add different kinds together, to mark a range, not a plan; the three middle rows keep one kind across all three steps.</p>
<p>Two Coursera headlines use months, such as "2 months at 10 hours a week". No page we read defines a month, so we show both 4 weeks and 4.35 weeks per month. That assumption is ours, not the provider's. Every provider figure in this article is as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026. More on our method: <a href="https://academies.ai/how-we-check/">How we check</a>.</p>
<h2>Step 1: Python</h2>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/programs/deeplearning-ai-python-for-beginners/">AI Python for Beginners</a> is listed at Beginner level, and its page says it teaches you to code practical AI applications "even if you've never programmed before." On background, the page states, as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026: "No required background - just an interest in learning Python supported by AI!" The Coursera page gives a pacing estimate of 2 weeks at 10 hours a week. Its four modules list 4, 4, 4 and 5 hours of content.</p>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/programs/365-introduction-to-python/">365 Introduction to Python</a> lists skill level Basic, Jupyter Notebook or JupyterLab as the prerequisite, and "None" for advanced preparation. The page gives three figures on the same date: a 2-hour headline duration; a split of Lessons (2 hours), Practice exams (25 minutes) and Projects (1 hour); and 10 sections listed at 6 to 85 minutes each, 230 minutes in all. The split adds up to more than the headline, so we show all three, all content hours.</p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Course and figure</th>
<th>What the page states</th>
<th>Hours</th>
<th>Weeks at 1 hour a day</th>
<th>Weeks at 45 minutes a day</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>AI Python for Beginners, pacing</td>
<td>2 weeks at 10 hours a week</td>
<td>20.0</td>
<td>2.9</td>
<td>3.8</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>AI Python for Beginners, module hours</td>
<td>4 + 4 + 4 + 5 hours</td>
<td>17.0</td>
<td>2.4</td>
<td>3.2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Introduction to Python, headline</td>
<td>2 hours</td>
<td>2.0</td>
<td>0.3</td>
<td>0.4</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Introduction to Python, split</td>
<td>2 h + 25 min + 1 h</td>
<td>3.4</td>
<td>0.5</td>
<td>0.7</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Introduction to Python, sections</td>
<td>230 minutes</td>
<td>3.8</td>
<td>0.5</td>
<td>0.7</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<h2>Step 2: Machine learning</h2>
<p>The <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/deeplearning-ai-stanford-machine-learning-specialization/">Machine Learning Specialization</a> is a Beginner, three-course program; the DeepLearning.AI page lists 42 Graded Assignments. It carries three different time statements on two pages, as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026:</p>
<ul>
<li>FAQ pacing, the same line on the DeepLearning.AI and Coursera pages: at 5 hours a week, 3 weeks for Course 1, 4 weeks for Course 2 and 3 weeks for Course 3. That is 10 weeks, or 50 hours.</li>
<li>Coursera headline: 2 months at 10 hours a week. That is 80 or 87 hours, depending on the month length we assume.</li>
<li>Listed content: Coursera lists 33, 34 and 28 hours for the three courses, 95 hours in all. The DeepLearning.AI page shows 94h58m, also about 95 hours.</li>
</ul>
<p>So the same program reads as 50 hours on one line and 95 on another. For a one-hour-a-day learner, that is the difference between 7.1 and 13.6 weeks. Expected background: basic coding (for loops, functions, if/else statements) and high school-level math (arithmetic, algebra); the page says any additional math concepts will be explained along the way.</p>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/programs/365-machine-learning-in-python/">365 Machine Learning in Python</a> states content hours only: a 7-hour headline duration, a split of Lessons (5 hours) and Practice exams (1.5 hours), and 8 sections totaling 410 minutes, including a 110-minute course exam. Its skill level is Intermediate. The page says "Intermediate Python skills are required" and that familiarity with basic statistics and linear algebra "is helpful but not mandatory." It lists Statistics and Introduction to Python as advanced preparation.</p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Course and figure</th>
<th>What the page states</th>
<th>Hours</th>
<th>Weeks at 1 hour a day</th>
<th>Weeks at 45 minutes a day</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>Machine Learning Specialization, FAQ pacing</td>
<td>10 weeks at 5 hours a week</td>
<td>50.0</td>
<td>7.1</td>
<td>9.5</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Machine Learning Specialization, headline (month = 4 weeks)</td>
<td>2 months at 10 hours a week</td>
<td>80.0</td>
<td>11.4</td>
<td>15.2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Machine Learning Specialization, headline (month = 4.35 weeks)</td>
<td>2 months at 10 hours a week</td>
<td>87.0</td>
<td>12.4</td>
<td>16.6</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Machine Learning Specialization, course hours</td>
<td>33 + 34 + 28 hours</td>
<td>95.0</td>
<td>13.6</td>
<td>18.1</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Machine Learning Specialization, publisher content</td>
<td>94h58m</td>
<td>95.0</td>
<td>13.6</td>
<td>18.1</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Machine Learning in Python, headline</td>
<td>7 hours</td>
<td>7.0</td>
<td>1.0</td>
<td>1.3</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Machine Learning in Python, split</td>
<td>5 h + 1.5 h</td>
<td>6.5</td>
<td>0.9</td>
<td>1.2</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Machine Learning in Python, sections</td>
<td>410 minutes</td>
<td>6.8</td>
<td>1.0</td>
<td>1.3</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<h2>Step 3: Deep learning</h2>
<p>The <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/coursera-deep-learning/">Deep Learning Specialization</a> is listed at Intermediate level. Expected: intermediate Python experience (for loops, if/else statements, lists and dictionaries). Recommended: basic linear algebra and an understanding of machine learning concepts. Its time statements, as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026:</p>
<ul>
<li>FAQ pacing, the same line on the Coursera and DeepLearning.AI pages: at 5 hours a week, each course typically takes 5 weeks, except course 3, which takes about 4 weeks. That is 24 weeks, or 120 hours.</li>
<li>Coursera headline: 3 months at 10 hours a week. That is 120 or 130.5 hours, depending on the month length we assume.</li>
<li>Listed content: Coursera lists 25, 24, 7, 36 and 37 hours for the five courses, 129 hours in all. The DeepLearning.AI page shows 127h29m, marked "Updated Sep 29, 2026". That is the publisher's own stated figure, on its page, not on the Coursera page.</li>
</ul>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/programs/fast-ai-practical-deep-learning-for-coders/">fast.ai Practical Deep Learning for Coders</a> works differently. The page calls it "A free course designed for people with some coding experience" and says the course book is freely available online. It states: "There are 9 lessons, and each lesson is around 90 minutes long." That is about 13.5 hours of video by our arithmetic. The page says the only prerequisite is that you know how to code (a year of experience is enough), preferably in Python, and have at least followed a high school math course. For computing, it points to Kaggle Notebooks and Paperspace Gradient, which it says have good free options, and strongly suggests not training models on your own computer unless you are very experienced with Linux system administration. No certificate is named on the course page captured on 12 October 2026.</p>
<p>An optional extra for this step is <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/365-deep-learning-with-tensorflow-2/">365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2</a>: skill level Advanced, intermediate Python and machine learning knowledge required, NumPy and neural network fundamentals recommended. It states a 5-hour headline duration, a split of Lessons (5 hours) and Practice exams (16 minutes), and 15 sections listing 330 minutes, all content hours. See also our comparison, <a href="https://academies.ai/compare/365-deep-learning-with-tensorflow-2-vs-coursera-tensorflow-developer/">365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2 vs. DeepLearning.AI TensorFlow Developer</a>.</p>
<table>
<thead>
<tr>
<th>Course and figure</th>
<th>What the page states</th>
<th>Hours</th>
<th>Weeks at 1 hour a day</th>
<th>Weeks at 45 minutes a day</th>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody><tr>
<td>Deep Learning Specialization, FAQ pacing</td>
<td>24 weeks at 5 hours a week</td>
<td>120.0</td>
<td>17.1</td>
<td>22.9</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Deep Learning Specialization, headline (month = 4 weeks)</td>
<td>3 months at 10 hours a week</td>
<td>120.0</td>
<td>17.1</td>
<td>22.9</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Deep Learning Specialization, headline (month = 4.35 weeks)</td>
<td>3 months at 10 hours a week</td>
<td>130.5</td>
<td>18.6</td>
<td>24.9</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Deep Learning Specialization, course hours</td>
<td>25 + 24 + 7 + 36 + 37 hours</td>
<td>129.0</td>
<td>18.4</td>
<td>24.6</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>Deep Learning Specialization, publisher content</td>
<td>127h29m</td>
<td>127.5</td>
<td>18.2</td>
<td>24.3</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>fast.ai part 1, video</td>
<td>9 lessons of around 90 minutes</td>
<td>13.5</td>
<td>1.9</td>
<td>2.6</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2, headline</td>
<td>5 hours</td>
<td>5.0</td>
<td>0.7</td>
<td>1.0</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2, split</td>
<td>5 h + 16 min</td>
<td>5.3</td>
<td>0.8</td>
<td>1.0</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td>365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2, sections</td>
<td>330 minutes</td>
<td>5.5</td>
<td>0.8</td>
<td>1.0</td>
</tr>
</tbody></table>
<h2>What the pages do not tell you</h2>
<ul>
<li><strong>Practice time beyond the video.</strong> The fast.ai lesson 1 page says every lesson includes lots of hands-on exercises, and that as well as watching the video and working through the notebooks, you should read the relevant book chapter. No time for that work is stated on the page captured on 12 October 2026.</li>
<li><strong>How long learners actually take.</strong> No completion data is stated on the pages captured on 12 October 2026.</li>
<li><strong>Trial length.</strong> The AI Python for Beginners FAQ says eligible learners "may also have the option to start with a Free Trial." No trial length is stated on the Coursera pages captured on 12 October 2026.</li>
<li><strong>A certificate window.</strong> The Machine Learning Specialization's Coursera FAQ says: "There is a limit of 180 days of certificate eligibility, after which you must re-purchase the course to obtain a certificate." The same FAQ says that if you audit the course for free, you will not receive a certificate. This line is from this program's Coursera FAQ; it is not on the AI Python for Beginners or Deep Learning Specialization pages we read, so do not assume it applies elsewhere. Our highest figure for that program is 18.1 weeks at 45 minutes a day.</li>
</ul>
<h2>What a slower pace means on a subscription</h2>
<p>Some of these programs sell access by the month or year, so a slower pace means more months of access. We sort prices into three states: free, priced, and no accepted price (no amount stated on the page). No page we read states a total cost to finish. All prices are as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026.</p>
<ul>
<li><strong>Free:</strong> fast.ai. The course is free, and its book is freely available online.</li>
<li><strong>Priced:</strong> the Machine Learning Specialization. The DeepLearning.AI page says: "The DeepLearning.AI Pro membership costs \(25/mo billed annually and \)30/mo billed monthly." Its Coursera FAQ says: "A Coursera subscription costs $49 / month."</li>
<li><strong>Priced:</strong> the 365 courses. Self-study access is USD 29 a month billed annually. A Free plan at $0 is also listed, "No credit card required." The FAQ says the Self-Study Plan provides access to certification exams and accredited certificates.</li>
<li><strong>No accepted price:</strong> AI Python for Beginners. Its FAQ names purchasing the Certificate experience, a Free Trial for eligible learners, and on some courses a Full Course, No Certificate option, with no amount stated.</li>
<li><strong>No accepted price:</strong> the Deep Learning Specialization on Coursera. No amount is stated. Its FAQ says "No, you cannot take this course for free," and that you can apply for financial aid if you cannot afford the fee.</li>
</ul>
<p>For what a certificate costs over time, see <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/true-cost-ai-certificate/">The True Cost of an AI Certificate</a>.</p>
<h2>Where to go next</h2>
<ul>
<li>Each program name above links to its page on our site.</li>
<li>Another time question, answered on a program page: "How long does it take to complete the Specialization?" on the <a href="https://academies.ai/programs/ibm-generative-ai-engineering-professional-certificate/">IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate</a> page.</li>
<li>Guides: <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/ai-engineering-learning-path/">AI Engineering Learning Path</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/guides/how-to-choose-an-ai-course/">How to Choose an AI Course</a>, <a href="https://academies.ai/how-we-check/">How we check a program</a>.</li>
</ul>
<h2>Sources</h2>
<p>All provider pages as shown in the United States on 12 October 2026.</p>
<ul>
<li>AI Python for Beginners (Coursera): <a href="https://www.coursera.org/learn/ai-python-for-beginners">https://www.coursera.org/learn/ai-python-for-beginners</a></li>
<li>365 Introduction to Python: <a href="https://365datascience.com/courses/introduction-to-python/">https://365datascience.com/courses/introduction-to-python/</a></li>
<li>Machine Learning Specialization (DeepLearning.AI): <a href="https://www.deeplearning.ai/courses/machine-learning-specialization/">https://www.deeplearning.ai/courses/machine-learning-specialization/</a></li>
<li>Machine Learning Specialization (Coursera): <a href="https://www.coursera.org/specializations/machine-learning-introduction">https://www.coursera.org/specializations/machine-learning-introduction</a></li>
<li>365 Machine Learning in Python: <a href="https://365datascience.com/courses/machine-learning-in-python/">https://365datascience.com/courses/machine-learning-in-python/</a></li>
<li>Deep Learning Specialization (Coursera): <a href="https://www.coursera.org/specializations/deep-learning">https://www.coursera.org/specializations/deep-learning</a></li>
<li>Deep Learning Specialization (DeepLearning.AI): <a href="https://www.deeplearning.ai/courses/deep-learning-specialization/">https://www.deeplearning.ai/courses/deep-learning-specialization/</a></li>
<li>fast.ai Practical Deep Learning for Coders: <a href="https://course.fast.ai/">https://course.fast.ai/</a></li>
<li>fast.ai lesson 1: <a href="https://course.fast.ai/Lessons/lesson1.html">https://course.fast.ai/Lessons/lesson1.html</a></li>
<li>365 Data Science pricing: <a href="https://365datascience.com/pricing/">https://365datascience.com/pricing/</a></li>
<li>365 Deep Learning with TensorFlow 2: <a href="https://365datascience.com/courses/deep-learning-with-tensorflow-2/">https://365datascience.com/courses/deep-learning-with-tensorflow-2/</a></li>
<li>Reader question (title only): <a href="https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/1wx4wuj/how_many_time_need_to_learn_machine_learning_if_i/">https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/1wx4wuj/how_many_time_need_to_learn_machine_learning_if_i/</a></li>
</ul>
<p><a href="https://academies.ai/guides/machine-learning-one-hour-a-day/">Originally published on academies.ai</a></p>
]]></content:encoded></item></channel></rss>